At Certsy, we want to ensure you have full control over your account and your data, so we enable you to delete your account in a few easy steps.
How to delete your account
To do so, log into your account and access your Account Settings by clicking the option on the left-hand sidebar, and click into the Delete My Account option. By clicking the Request Account Deletion button, you are starting the process for account deletion. Once clicked, we will schedule your account to be deleted after a short grace period (48 hours), and the date of deletion will be displayed to you. If you would like to reverse your decision to delete your account, you have a short period in which you can do so by clicking the Cancel Account Deletion button.
Why is there a wait for deletion?
If you wish to delete your Certsy account, it is important you understand that account deletion is permanent and removes all your information, so it cannot be reversed once the deletion has been enacted. It is for this reason that we allow a short grace period to enable you to reverse the decision if desired.
If you have a completed police check, it is likely your account will be scheduled for deletion longer than the 48 hour grace period. This is because there are some legal and regulatory reasons that require us to retain data for specific periods of time (ACIC requires us to retain police checks for a year). In these cases, we can only delete accounts after that period is over.